Home
Chris came to town

Chris came to town

It was the 15th of November when the winds changed. I was still unable to walk and Eldad was off at uni when a stranger rolled into our apartment block. It was Chris – a friend I couldn’t wait to see. After some detailed yet dodgy directions from me, Chris somehow found his way to our apartment.

We reclined and indulged in the stories of the months in between us. I had such a good plan for us – which involved me being able to walk. Chris took swift action and got a bandage and some food and by that evening I was tentatively hobbling in my high heels again (the vanity of Italy made an impression on me).

We only had a couple of nights

 

My favourite place in all of Milano - Il Vinaccio, Navigli (the good Navigli)

My favourite place in all of Milano – Il Vinaccio, Navigli (the good Navigli)

The first night I was keen for Chris to visit our favourite local, Il Vinaccio and meet Fabrizio. We then met Chiara and Andrea at Gloria for a delicious and homestyle Milanese meal. It was such a fun night and everything I would describe my typical night in my home in Milan as.

Time was of the essence before we all left Milan and Eldad had planned another soccer game with Edmundo. Chris and I took in the glorious Al Ponte De Ferr in Navigli for some gastronomic delights. Of course, we did start with pre-drinks at Vinaccio – and I should mention, Chris kindly bought a delicious NZ Sav Blanc to share with Fabrizio for all his wonderful hospitality.

After dinner we had planned to visit the stunning Campari bar opposite the Duomo for a drink but sources told us there was a private function so we met Chiara at a cocktail bar for a drink before catching up with the Bocconi crew for more drinks at another bar near by. This is where Chris got the low-down and who’s-who of Milan.

 

A real cigar, or just a delectable treat from Al Pont De Ferr??

A real cigar, or just a delectable treat from Al Pont De Ferr??

It was so good to share our experience with such a close friend and while I already felt Milan was like home, having Chris there made it way more so.

The amazing duomo

The amazing duomo

Leave a Reply

